Book Review – Ready Player One

I read this book last year and wrote a book review about it as soon as I had read it, with the intention of posting it on my Blog. I am pretty sure that at the time my old Blog that I deleted was where I was planning to post it. Jack recommended this book to me, and at first I wasn’t very interested as his book tastes are completely different to mine (sci fi, aliens etc…). Here goes my review…

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Now this is not the type of genre I would usually read, but was recommended by my partner who had just started reading it. I want to tell you lots about it but don’t want to say too much to spoil it! It was described to me as inspired by Charlie and the chocolate factory, in the sense that the great creator of the “game” left all of his money to one lucky contender/player.

The story is set in the future in the year 2044 where the world has gone to shit and all of Earth’s population plays their lives out in a virtual reality called the Oasis. The Oasis was created by James Halliday who is a big game designer along with his business partner Ogden, and the contestants are to find three keys to three gates within the Oasis in order to win.

Our main character that we follow is called Wade who lives in a poor area with his Aunt (who he hates) in a trailer. However, he has a hideout that he spends most of his time in, goes to school in (in virtual reality…), and hangs out with his virtual friends. Most of the world’s population attends school and their day to day jobs in the virtual reality, and Wade is currently in the last few months of his school year before he graduates.

James Halliday grew up in the 80’s so many of the highlights of the game are based around 80’s films, music and games. Of course with many books, they don’t just run smoothly and there is the so called “baddies” who are a large corporation that solely employ people to try and win the whole thing.

Now I will warn you, this book does not get properly started until about 20% in and is almost overly describing, and overly setting the scene. I was very close to giving up and moving on to another book, but I didn’t … And I’m so glad I didn’t because I loved the rest of the book. You feel that because of the over describing you can really imagine what the characters look like, and what the surroundings are and can really immerse yourself in the story.

In This book you get an equal dose of action, history, romance and friendship … Along with all of the 80’s references. If you know nothing of the 80’s, then maybe don’t bother with this book as you will not understand many of the references…Although; it might be great place to learn! But after I got into this book, I couldn’t put it down and was determined to read it as quickly as possible to find out what happens at the end!

I wouldn’t say that this was an “easy” read as sometimes the way in which some things are described can be a little overbearing, but it has got to be one of the best books I read in 2016. I would maybe go as far to say that this is in my top ten books that I’ve ever read. Which I hate having to say after refusing to read any books that my partner has recommended up to this point!!

The characters are interesting, you can picture them all. However; I will say that there is a big twist with one of the characters later on in the book, toward the end.

I would actually recommend reading this book to anyone as I feel that it has something to give to all. Not everyone will enjoy it as everyone is different and that’s just fine!

After reading this book I thought to myself that this would play out into an amazing movie! Low and behold… It is being made into a movie by Steven Spielberg!! I had a gander at IMDb and the movie is set to be released in 2018! If I had never read the book my partner would have asked me to go watch the film anyway when it comes out, with me not having a clue of what it’s about. I’m glad I read the book first as I know that when books get made into movies, things can change and don’t always acutely portray the book. Only time will tell… and hope that I can blog about this further when I’ve seen the movie!

Side note: I use an app called Goodreads where you can track your reading, set challenges and discover new books. If you are a bookworm, I would recommend downloading/joining. If you join or are already on there, let me know and I will follow you!

If anyone decides to read this book, please let me know as I would love to heard your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

