Relationship Series – How We Met

Every love story has a beginning and our started in 2010 when we were both super young and naive. We were both in our home city on nights out with each of our friends when we laid eyes on each other.

I noticed Jack straight away with his then long Emo-ish blonde hair and glasses, and saw that he kept looking over at me. We were in a club called Walkabout and I was out for my friends birthday when she decided to nip to the toilets. Whilst she was gone I got Jack to come over and we started talking and dancing when Bruno Mars – Just The Way Your Are came on the speakers…and that’s when we shared our first kiss and the moment that Just The Way You Are became officially “our” song!

My group of friends were leaving so Jack and I quickly exchanged numbers and carried on with the rest of our nights. The next day Jack and I arranged to meet up and met in a good old English pub and we just talked for hours!

After that, we went on a few dates and really got on well and eventually Jack asked me about being in a relationship. At the time I wasn’t really looking for a full on relationship as I had not long come out of a long term relationship of 5 years that didn’t end particularly well. I was enjoying life being able to do the things I hadn’t previously been able to do.

We lost contact with each other for some 8 months, but whenever I heard that Bruno Mars song it always reminded me of Jack. Looking back, it makes me feel bad that I didn’t just go with it and continue dating Jack, but I just wasn’t ready to settle into a serious relationship, and I fear that it wouldn’t have worked out.

It was 8 months later when I was out shopping and coincidentally saw Jack, I didn’t go up to speak to him as he was not on his own, but we were still friends on Facebook so I messaged him. We got chatting again and Jack was as lovely as ever! It was coming up to my 21st Birthday and so I invited him to come out with me and a bunch of friends, but he already had plans for his cousin’s birthday.

Jack offered to take me out for a belated birthday drink the following week, which actually turned out to be hungover afternoon coffee! I had been out the night before and had several drinks, and didn’t quite feel my best, but something made me get my act together and go and meet him! What I thought was going to be a friendly catch up turned into a date of sorts, and we went on to spend lots more time together and go on real dates.

After a few weeks of dating and spending time in cosy English pubs, Jack asked me to be his girlfriend… and I was finally ready to say yes!! Five and half years later I can officially say that I am in love with my best friend. I will always remember the night we both met and think about how different things could have turned out, but I will be ever grateful that they turned out just they way are!

“Disclaimer – I am in no way shape or form a relationship counsellor, and everything I share with you is based on my own experiences and opinions. I am simply sharing this in the hopes that it may be helpful to some, fully understanding that it may not be helpful or to the interests of others”

Leave a Reply

